Ravichandran Ashwin part of Cricket Australia’s Test XI

Ravichandran Ashwin is among the three Indians named in the list.© AFP

Opener Rohit Sharma, off-spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Axar Patel and wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant are the three Indians named in cricket.com.au’s Test squad for the year 2021. Cricket.com.au selected Rohit as the opener. After years of dominating white-ball cricket and his home conditions, Rohit Sharma showed his last front win this year that he could score big Test runs outside Asia. And a strong 2021 that saw him trail only Joe Root for most of the runs, he could have been even better if the classy right-hander had converted several strong starts into big hundreds.

Rishabh Pant was selected as the wicketkeeper. Had he been able to convert scores of 97 (in Sydney), 89* (in Brisbane) and 91 (in Chennai) into centuries, his numbers would have been much better. He has been compared to the great Adam Gilchrist in the way he demolished Australia and England at the start of the year.

Ravichandran Ashwin and Axar Patel have taken 54 and 36 wickets this year at 16.64 and 11.86 respectively.


Australia’s Marnus Marnus Labuschagne was the only player from the national team to be included in the list.

Cricket Australia Test XI of 2021: Rohit Sharma, Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Marnus Labuschagne, Joe Root, Fawad Alam, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravi Ashwin, Kyle Jamieson, Axar Patel, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi

Topics mentioned in this article


Source link

What Do You Think About this News