No home farewell, Chris Gayle out of West Indies

Veteran batsman Chris Gayle was surprisingly absent from the West Indies squad named on Friday for the one-off T20I against Ireland but captain Kieron Pollard returned from injury for the series, which also involves England. Gayle, 42, was expected to bid an international farewell in front of a home audience at Sabina Park in Kingston. But the Jamaican government has announced that fans will not be allowed at sporting events due to the COVID-19 pandemic. West Indies host Ireland in a three-match International (ODI) series and conduct a one-time CG insurance T20 International (T20I) from January 8 to 16.

The two-time world champion will then travel to Barbados to face England in five T20Is at the Kensington Oval from January 22 to 30.

Pollard, 34, recently missed the tour of Pakistan after failing to recover from a hamstring injury during the T20 World Cup.

“We have tried to maintain the normal makeup of the team from the tour of Pakistan before Christmas, with the captain and some senior players coming back,” head coach Phil Simmons said.

ā€œCOVID-19 has also played a part in the final make-up of the squad. Over the next few months young players from both the teams will face challenges not only to improve their skills but also to maintain that attitude and desire Pakistan is falling.

ā€œWe need to start the year on a high level. And we know that Ireland and England both have very good teams, so we expect a very strong challenge as we prepare for the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2023. Let’s improve and build our chances of qualification. T20 squad for the ICC T20 World Cup in 2022.”

West Indies team:

ODI vs Ireland

Kieron Pollard (capt), Shai Hope (vice-captain), Shamar Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Jason Holder, Akil Hossein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Moti, Jaden Seals, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Odeon Smith, Devon Thomas

COVID-19 Reserve:Keesey Carty, Sheldon Cottrell

T20 vs Ireland and England


Kieron Pollard (Captain), Nicholas Pooran (Vice-Captain), Fabian Allen (England T20 only), Darren Bravo (England T20 only), Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Shai Hope, Akel Hossein, Jason Holder, Brandon King , Kyle Meyers, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Odeon Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr.

COVID-19 Reserve:Jaden Seals, Alzarri Joseph, Devon Thomas

Topics mentioned in this article


Source link

What Do You Think About this News